“I’d rather be illegally alive than legally dead”
Do you remember that statement by Coltyn Turner, a 14-year old child with Crohn’s disease? Cannabis helped him back to normal.
Several studies have shown that cannabis can help children ease symptoms of many illnesses.
So, can you get a medical marijuana card if you are not at least 18 years old? What are the MMJ regulations for minors in California? Let’s discuss this in detail.
Table of Contents
How Old You Should Be to Get a Recommendation Letter?
In California, individuals who are at least 18 years of age can apply for MMJ recommendations.
Since recreational marijuana is also legal in the state, anyone who is at least 21 years old can buy cannabis. But, medical users enjoy benefits such as higher potency limits than recreational users.
To submit your application for an MMIC card, you require the following documents-
- A copy of a doctor’s recommendation
- A copy of a government-issued identification card—California Driver’s License, US Passport, California ID Card, etc.
- A copy of proof of residency in the county. The document must have the name and address of the applicant. You can show rent/mortgage agreement, California DMV motor registration, utility bill, etc.
Can a Minor Get an MMJ Card in Riverside?
Yes. California allows individuals under the age of 18 to apply for their medical recommendations.
However, they must have valid state-issued identification cards or copies of their birth certificates. Also, their parents or legal guardians must allow them to use medical marijuana.
The California marijuana law allows minors to use medical cannabis, but they must use it under the careful supervision of their parents or legal guardians.
In some cases, a minor requires a caregiver to administer their medical marijuana treatment. Caregivers can legally buy, possess and cultivate cannabis on behalf of their patients. But, they can’t use or sell cannabis bought for their patients.
A caregiver must be at least 18 years of age and must register on the MMIC site.
Many parents and doctors agree that marijuana helps ease some of the ADHD symptoms, particularly anxiety.
Since cannabis use can lead to diminished IQ, memory loss, etc. in children, it’s necessary to talk to a licensed doctor before giving marijuana to your child. Seek professional help regarding dosage, strains, consumption methods, etc.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Riverside?
Medical marijuana has been legal in California since 1996. In the state, registered patients can possess higher quantities of cannabis than recreational users.
The first step to get a medical marijuana card in Riverside is to get a doctor’s recommendation. It should state that medical cannabis is an appropriate treatment for your medical condition.
Here’s the list of MMJ qualifying conditions-
- Chronic pain
- Persistent muscle spasms
- Severe nausea
- Any debilitating illness where medical marijuana is an appropriate treatment and has been recommended by a physician
Click here to check MMJ qualifying conditions and guidelines.
To get an MMJ recommendation hassle-free, you can talk to a board-certified doctor online. The process is-
- Sign up for an account at Medical Marijuana Card Riverside
- Talk to a licensed doctor via video call
- Get your recommendation letter in PDF
After getting a doctor’s recommendation, you need to fill an application form available at the CDPH’s site. Enter your and caregiver (if any) details.
Then, you need to submit the application form to your county’s health department. If you meet the requirements, you will get your MMIC card.
In California, a medical marijuana card is valid for 12 months from the date it is issued. Patients need to renew their cards if they want to continue enjoying the benefits as medical users.
If you don’t renew your medical card after 12 months, you will automatically become a recreational user.
California Medical Marijuana Laws
In California, registered patients and caregivers can possess up to 8 ounces of dried marijuana or concentrates. However, recreational users can possess only 1 ounce of dried marijuana or up to 8g of concentrates.
The state law requires patients to consume cannabis in private places. Smoking marijuana in public places is illegal. In California, individuals aren’t allowed to smoke cannabis within 1,000 feet of a school.
Individuals with valid medical cards can grow more cannabis plants as compared to recreational users. Registered patients and caregivers are allowed to cultivate up to six mature plants or twelve immature plants at home. However, an adult without a doctor’s recommendation can grow only six plants.
In the state, driving under the influence of marijuana is illegal. However, individuals have to submit their chemical tests of blood or urine. They can’t consult an attorney before submitting the test.
California DUI penalties for a first offense are- 96 hours to 6 months in jail, $390-$1000 fine, and license suspension for 4 months. Moreover, the offender must complete a DUI program.
Covering it up, In California, individuals who are at least 18 years old can get MMJ cards. However, a minor can apply for a medical marijuana card in Riverside, CA if their parents allow them to use cannabis.
To get your medical card, you need to get a recommendation from a licensed doctor first. Then, you need to complete an application form at the CDPH’s site and submit it to your county’s health department.
In the state, medical users can’t consume cannabis in public places. And, driving under the influence of cannabis is illegal. Check California regulations for medical users for more details.